Internet of Things

The term “Internet of Things” means communication in many different facets: from the vehicle, into the vehicle, between the vehicle components, but also between vehicle components and the Internet. For example, the vehicle communicates with dynamic passenger information system at bus stops, components report necessary maintenance to the workshop or the performance of the individual systems in the bus is optimally coordinated with each other.

An important factor of success is change of information and services of the systems. The compentence and systems of Fraunhofer IVI offers this interoperabiliy, in which the systems collaborate in an efficient way.

 

The comprehensive IoT total solution offers the possibility to all vehicle components to transmit comprehensive data to the cloud via an uniform interface. At vehicles side a telementry unit, equipped with a SIM card, is installed, that takes information out of on-board communications network, filter them and transmit them in a compressed and safe way.

 

At cloud side a great varity of analysing methods and analysing representation can be choosen. With the assistance of the components manufacturers early failures, not optimal operating adjustments or misfunctions can be recognized and fixed in a cost-saving way. Furthermore the system can evaluate the interaction by combining information of different components and therefore examine, simulate and back-up efficiency-enhancing measures without labourious troubleshooting.

Especially breakdown, maintenance intervals and service work can be avoided. Always up-do-date information on vehicle, energy supply and service work are at the operators disposal.

Internet of Things

Hinter dem Begriff Internet of Things verbirgt sich Kommunikation in vielen verschiedenen Facetten: aus dem Fahrzeug heraus, in das Fahrzeug hinein, zwischen Fahrzeugkomponenten, aber auch zwischen Fahrzeugkomponenten und dem Internet. Zum Beispiel kommuniziert das Fahrzeug mit dynamischen Fahrgast-Informationssystemen an Haltestellen, Komponenten melden notwendige Wartungen an die Werkstatt oder die Leistung der einzelnen Systeme im Bus wird optimal aufeinander abgestimmt.

Ein wichtiger Faktor für den Erfolg des E-Bus-Clusters ist der Austausch von Informationen und Services der Systeme untereinander. Diese Interoperability, bei der die Systeme im Idealfall nahtlos und effektiv zusammenarbeiten, ermöglicht die Kompetenz und die Systeme des Fraunhofer IVI.

Die vom Fraunhofer IVI bereitgestellte IoT-Gesamtlösung ermöglicht es allen Fahrzeug-Komponenten über eine einheitliche Schnittstelle, umfangreiche Informationen in die Cloud zu senden. Fahrzeugseitig ist hierzu eine mit einer SIM-Karte ausgestattete Telemetrieeinheit verbaut, die Informationen aus dem Bordkommunikationsnetz entnimmt, filtert und in komprimierter und datensicherer Form versendet.

Cloudseitig können eine Vielzahl von Auswertungs- und Darstellungsformen implementiert und ausgewählt werden. Nicht nur können unter Einbezug der Komponentenhersteller durch entsprechende Aufarbeitung der Systemdaten Frühausfälle, nicht-optimale Betriebseinstellungen oder Fehlfunktionen kostensparend erkannt und so reagiert werden. Auch kann das das System durch die Vereinigung von Informationen der unterschiedlichen Komponeten deren Zusammenspiel auswerten und so ohne mühsame Fehlersuche effizienzsteigernde Maßnahmen untersuchen, simulieren und zurückspielen.

Insbesondere können so Stillstandszeiten, Wartungsintervalle und Service-Einsätze vermieden werden, und den Systembetreibern stehen stets aktuelle Informationen zum Fahrzeug, Energieverbräuchen und Service-Einsätzen zur Verfügung.